A musician and a painter of Spanish origin, Jean Pierre Rodrigo was born in Brive (France) in 1947 and has been living and working in Cahors (France).

In 1976 he took up painting concurrently with his musical activities. Italy and Spain, architecture and archaeology, literature and painting have inspired most of the themes tackled under a great variety both of forms (series, suite and variations on a theme) and of materials (acrylic paint on paper, canvas and wood and since 2003 sculptures and ceramics)

.

What Jean Pierre Rodrigo’s paintings and sculptures represent never meet our eyes as such... The initial motif never fits its description, but isn’t a perpetual pretext to endless repetitions either... Better than a given permanent feature, the motif acts as a disconcerting basic structure.

(...)The discrepancy between the way the subject is dealt with and its declension in series – its qualified functionality, in other words -- makes it clear that it would be highly thoughtless to believe that what we see tallies with an approved truthfulness.

Things are not happening where they can be seen...

Rodrigo’s disruptive rhythmic dexterity offers visual instruction only in so far as it triggers the viewer into going beyond those inexpressibly faithful sketches, behind those paradoxical unlikely reproductions handed out as the result of an extraordinary experience…”


(Luc Rigal, Mars 2009, in La non équivalence de Jean Pierre Rodrigo, extraits)


In Jean Pierre Rodrigo’s works“Architecture is the constant, unavoidable referent, but as a concept one must insist on its open, intuitive, unsettled character. It lingers on, de facto, as a substratum, a founding idea,  a framework of subconscious references (…) The approach to themes is highly emotional, their realization fairly often proves to be gestural and verges on expressionism.

Drawing is the protagonist of quite a number of his paintings...

Colours are generally austere; natural tones prevail like ochre, sienna or brick red, with the colour White and the black line being used as counterpoints.

A basic feature of the artist’s morphological language, the colour White delimits, defines divides in sequences; thus creating breaks in the process of immediate reading, allowing breathing, inserting pauses, parentheses as necessary here as rests in music.

What Rodrigo means to evoke are the fragments of an itinerary, the episodes of memory, weaving a deep emotional, passionate and poetic web”.


(Raquel Medina, Docteur en Histoire de l’Art, critique de l’ACCA – AICA, Exposition Tarraco series / Italiques, Museu d’art modern, Tarragona 1999)

 

RODRIGO SUBIRANA

BiographieBiographie.html
ChronologieCHRONOLOGIE.html
ExpositionsExpositions.html
TextesTextes.html
VidéosVideos.html
ContactContact.html
CéramiqueCeramiques/Ceramiques.html
PeinturePeintures/Peintures.html
SculptureSculptures.html

Musicien et peintre d'origine espagnole, Jean-Pierre Rodrigo, né à Brive en 1947, vit et travaille à Cahors. Il aborde la peinture en 1976 parallèlement à ses activités musicales. L’Italie et  l’Espagne, l'architecture et l'archéologie, la littérature et la peinture  lui inspirent la plupart des thèmes qu’il décline  en séries,  suites ou  variations sur un thème, à l'acrylique sur papier, toile ou bois, et depuis 2003, sous forme de sculptures céramique.


«La peinture, la sculpture de Jean-Pierre Rodrigo ne s’offrent jamais pour ce qu’elles représentent...

Ainsi le motif initial n’épouse pas la description, mais il n’est pas non plus immuable prétexte à la répétition en série...  Mieux qu’une constante fixe, le motif est un canevas de déroute.

(...) à chaque fois le décalage produit par le traitement du sujet et sa déclinaison en série, en fonctionnalité qualifiée autrement dit, nous précise à quelle inconséquence nous nous laisserions aller à croire que ce que nous voyons correspond à une vérité sanctionnée. Ça  ne se passe pas là où ça se voit....

La dextérité rythmique disruptive de Rodrigo n’est une instruction visuelle que dans la mesure où elle engage son spectateur au dépassement de cette hallucination nerveuse obsessionnelle de soi-même...  On n’aura de cesse de se demander ce qui se cache derrière ces ébauches à la fidélité intraduisible, le paradoxe de ces reproductions invraisemblables qui se donnent pour le résultat d’une expérience hors du commun...»


(Luc Rigal, Mars 2009, in La non-équivalence de Jean-Pierre Rodrigo, extraits)


Dans l'œuvre de Jean-Pierre Rodrigo, «l’architecture est le référent constant et inéluctable,  mais il convient d'insister sur le caractère ouvert, intuitif et changeant de ce concept qui, de fait, demeure comme un substrat, une idée de fond, une armature de références subconscientes(...) L'approche des thèmes est éminemment émotive,   l’exécution  se révélant  assez souvent gestuelle, frôlant l'expressionnisme.

Le dessin, toujours présent, est le protagoniste de nombres de ces peintures…

La couleur est généralement austère, les tons naturels dominent avec les ocres, terres, briques, avec pour contrepoint le blanc et la ligne noire.  Trait essentiel de son langage morphologique,le blanc délimite, définit, divise en séquences, créant ainsi des ruptures dans la lecture directe, rendant possible une respiration, insérant une pause, une parenthèse, aussi nécessaire que le silence en musique.

Le fait de Rodrigo est d’évoquer les fragments d’un itinéraire, épisodes de la mémoire, qui tissent une profonde trame émotive, passionnelle et poétique.»


(Raquel Medina, Docteur en Histoire de l'Art, critique de l'ACCA-AICA, Exposició Tàrraco series / Italique, Museu d'Art Modern, Tarragona, 1999)

 

RODRIGO SUBIRANA

BiographieBiographie.html
ChronologieCHRONOLOGIE.html
ExpositionsExpositions.html
TextesTextes.html
VidéosVideos.html
ContactContact.html
CéramiqueCeramiques/Ceramiques.html
PeinturePeintures/Peintures.html
SculptureSculptures.html